Music < 3

Music has always been my passion (haha too many people seem to say that, but still – it is true) :

I remember that when I was little I enjoyed going to church, because I could sing there. Almost every sunday I got up, got dressed and – with my Daddy – went there to join the choir.
Once a year I watched ‘Kiddy Contest’ with full excitement and a few days later – with at least the same excitement – I bought the CD. (I’m not sure if ‘Kiddy Contest’ is very well known, so.. Basically it is a singing contest for children that’s arranged once a year; the kids cover famous pop-songs with German lyrics; the competition is shown on TV and a CD with their songs is available a few days later..)
Dreaming about being famous one day too, I started playing my aunties 30-year-old guitar in primary school. Well… I guess ‘played’ isn’t the right word, I just strummed something without actual chords <– must have sound aweeeeesome haha
However, by now I am able to play the guitar. Even though the goal of becoming famous isn’t part of me anymore, music is. I love to cover songs (lots of songs, I’ll tell you) and therefore my guitar is the best birthday present I have ever received (an instrument is kind of necessary for covering songs..)

I love how music can set you in a different mood – immediately. Music can make people happy, sad, motivated – for sports, cleaning, clubbing… It can help you concentrate, get up, or fall asleep. I can’t think of any mood without fitting music.
It doesn’t matter how I feel, some playlist will be on! Thanks to YouTube, Spotify, iTunes, radio – and most important headphones – music is always with me.

Over the last year, my taste in music went through a drastic change. I used to listen to (soft) pop and R’n’B. Artists like Beyoncé, Adele, Ed Sheeran, Rihanna or cover-stars like Kina Grannis, Madilyn Bailey or Pentatonix were listed on my phone (that was before I had my iPod..) I used to discover songs before they became popular (if they ever did at all^^) or just spot some unknown artists. Basically, I spent lots of time in front of my computer to discover and listen, discover and listen…

However, about 1-1/2 years ago a friend of mine introduced me to even more music, to different artists and fascinating tunes. It was like I entered a new room, which’s door I had been ignoring so far.
To be honest, it had been quite weird to get used to more either alternative or rock-music, but it was worth it!

Now I’m using my obsession to introduce you guys to my favourite artists, or to tell you about my current favourite songs, or to show you some playlists..

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.”- Victor Hugo

Lots of love,
Tina Beth K.

Leave a comment